The iconic 1835 building is a National Historic Landmark, the highest designation accorded by the U.S. Department of the Interior. Its Doric columns and domed exterior make it hard to miss. Originally, the building was home to the medical college’s classrooms where some of the most significant antebellum medical work was practiced. During the Civil War the building became a hospital. Following the war, the Medical College remained in the building until 1912 when it relocated. Since 1912, the building has been used for a variety of civic and social functions including as a school building for the Academy of Richmond County, a USO during WWII, and a social hall for the Sand Hills Garden Club and the Augusta Council of Garden Clubs. Significant efforts to rehab the building were undertaken by the Medical College of Georgia Foundation in 1988 which resulted in the building repurposed as a general event space. Since that 1988 renovation, the building has remained as one of Augusta’s premier event spaces.