Questions & Information Call (706) 724-0436

Mobile & Tablet Header:

Augusta-Richmond County Historic Preservation Commission

Augusta, Georgia, has three designated local historic districts which have design guidelines applied to all exterior alterations, new construction, and demolitions of properties within the district boundaries. These districts are Augusta Downtown, Summerville, and Olde Town.  The Augusta-Richmond County Historic Preservation has the authority to review and approve or reject all Certificates of Appropriateness which are required to perform the work as indicated above.  More information about the Historic Preservation Commission is found on their website.  The design guidelines are available by clicking on the link below for the respective district.

Augusta Downtown Local Historic District Guidelines


Summerville Local Historic District Guidelines


Olde Town Local Historic District Guidelines

For those interested in applying to become a Historic Preservation Commission member, there are several qualifications:

To the extent available, at least five members must be professionals from the fields of architecture, history, architectural history, planning, archaeology, historic preservation, or related disciplines. The remaining members may be nonprofessionals with special interest, experience, or education in regional history, historic architecture, or historic preservation.

Please contact the Historic Preservation Commission staff member at 706-821-1796 with all further questions.